Map of the EU
map of the EU

Map of the EU – languages in EU

Map of the EU
Map of the EU 4

Map of the EU countries is related with the European Union and it has 24 official languages: Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Irish, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish, and Swedish. Important documents, such as legislation, are translated into every official language and the European Parliament provides translation for documents and plenary sessions. Due to the high number of official languages, most of the institutions use only a handful of working languages.

The European Commission maps are related with EU map conducts its internal business in three procedural languages: English, French, and German. The Court of Justice of the European Union uses French as the working language, while the European Central Bank conducts its business primarily in English. In 2012, English was the most widely spoken language in the EU, being understood by 51% of the EU population when counting both non-native and native speakers. Following the UK’s exit from the block in early 2020 the percentage of the EU population who spoke English as their native language fell from 13% to 1%.

Europe map with countries is focused with specially German and it is the most widely spoken mother tongue (18% of the EU population), and the second most widely understood foreign language, followed by French (13% of the EU population). A total of twenty official languages of the EU belong to the Indo-European language family, represented by the Balto-Slavic, the Italic, the Germanic, the Hellenic, and the Celtic branches. Only four languages, namely Hungarian, Finnish, Estonian (all three Uralic), and Maltese (Semitic), are not Indo-European languages. The three official alphabets of the European Union (Cyrillic, Latin, and modern Greek) all derive from the Archaic Greek scripts.

History of Europe map with names are related with Luxembourgish (in Luxembourg) and Turkish (in Cyprus) are the only two national languages that are not official languages of the EU. On 26 February 2016 it was made public that Cyprus has asked to make Turkish an official EU language, in a “gesture” that could help solve the division of the country. Already in 2004, it was planned that Turkish would become an official language when Cyprus reunites. Catalan, Galician and Basque are not recognized official languages of the European Union but have official status in one member state (Spain).

Therefore map of northern Europe with capital did official translations of the treaties are made into them and citizens have the right to correspond with the institutions in these languages. The European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages ratified by most EU states provides general guidelines that states can follow to protect their linguistic heritage. Religion The EU has no formal connection to any religion. The Article 17 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union recognizes the “status under national law of churches and religious associations” as well as that of “non-confessional and philosophical organizations”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s