Map of the EU
map of the EU

Map of the EU and Eurozone

Map of the EU painting and art exhibition in Europe

Map of the EU and showing Eurozone for the travelers

Which Countries Use the Euro in 2020? Map of the Eurozone. This Eurozone map and explainer article have been updated to July 2020. The article was originally published in June 2016, and the earliest version of the map appeared in a 2014 news article. Article by Caleb Centanni, with additional content by Evan Centanni.

Map of the EU shows What is the Eurozone? Officially called the “euro area”, the Eurozone is a nickname for the group of countries in Europe that share a single currency, called the euro. The euro currency is administered by the European Union (EU), but many countries in the EU don’t use the euro, and some countries outside the EU do use it. The European Central Bank, the governing financial body of the Eurozone, is headquartered in Frankfurt, Germany. Germany, along with eleven other EU countries, became a founding member of the Eurozone in 1999. Since then, eight more members have joined after meeting the five necessary economic criteria.

Map of the European Union member states countries highlights what has brought the total to nineteen Eurozone members, including all but eight of the 27 European Union member countries. Nine distant territories of Eurozone member countries – those that are considered part of the EU – are also part of the Eurozone. These territories (not pictured on the map) are the Portuguese islands of the Azores and Madeira; Spain’s Canary Islands; French Guiana in South America; the French island territories of Guadeloupe, Martinique, and Saint Martin in the Caribbean; and the French island territories of Mayotte and RĂ©union in the Indian Ocean.

The political map of EU and all other overseas territories of EU member countries are considered to be outside the EU. These non-EU territories are generally not part of the Eurozone either, but there are some exceptions. Which EU Countries Don’t Use the Euro? A total of eight European Union member countries aren’t in the Eurozone. At least, not yet: Three countries – Denmark, Bulgaria, and Croatia – are part of the European Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM II), which ties members’ currency to the euro and is a necessary step towards joining the Eurozone. Denmark is allowed to opt out of adopting the euro, despite its ERM II membership, but Bulgaria and Croatia are expected to enter the Eurozone in 2023 or 2024.

How Croatia and Bulgaria enters in EU? Croatia and Bulgaria’s Entry into the ERM II. All members of the European Union were required by the Maastricht Treaty of 1992 to change to the euro after meeting the criteria. Both Denmark and the UK negotiated exemptions from the requirement later in that year (the UK later ended up leaving the EU altogether). Five other EU members – Sweden, Poland, Czechia, Hungary, and Romania – are still required to adopt the euro at some point in the future, but haven’t yet entered the ERM II.

Map of the EU shows Which Non-EU Countries and Territories Do Use the Euro.  There are four tiny countries outside the EU – Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City – that have monetary agreements allowing them to use the Euro as their official currency. Two other non-EU-members, Montenegro and the disputed Republic of Kosovo, have unilaterally adopted the euro without coming to any agreement with the European Central Bank. The EU has expressed its dissatisfaction with these unilateral adoptions, but the currency’s use in the two countries has gone forward anyway.

EU map shows that map of the EU of Europe shows the topic besides those six independent countries, four of the world’s dependent territories also use the Euro despite not being part of the EU. The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, a UK territory on the island of Cyprus, have never been part of the EU, even when the UK was – but the UK has agreed for the country of Cyprus to be in charge of currency in the areas, meaning the Eurozone treats them as part of Cyprus.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s